Select Page

Campus Candids

Today is the last day of Ignatian Scholarship Days (ISD) at Canisius. The academic tradition celebrates student scholarship via exhibits, presentations and performances. Though the event was completely virtual this year, students did an outstanding job of showcasing their very best!

Pictured above: Top row, left to right: Ryanna Taylor (who presented with Eliana DeGlopper, not pictured);
Jennifer Sescil and Matthew Forney. Bottom row, left to right: Taryll Sigler, Charlotte Kacprowicz and Sierra Boucher.

Submitted by: College Communications

Congratulations to the Canisius CFA Team!

Canisius CFA team left to right: Nick Szabo, Deu Awuok, Mike Steffan (team captain), Tucker Weppner and Timothy Shubsda .

Congratulations to our Golden Griffin Fund CFA Research team for a job well done! The students put forth an outstanding effort in their presentation of National Fuel Gas at the Americas Finals of the CFA Institute Research Challenge but fell just short of advancing to the global competition. 

The Canisius team was one of just five universities in North/South America to reach the regional finals, beating out about 500 schools. This now makes Canisius one of only two universities in the world to reach its regional (continental) finals 6 of the past 7 years!

The CFA Team includes Mike Steffan (team captain), Deu Awuok, Timothy Shubsda, Nick Szabo and Tucker Weppner.  The faculty advisors are Richard Wall, professor of Economics and Finance and Steve Gattuso, executive director of the Golden Griffin Fund. 

Canisius stands proud of their amazing accomplishments! 

Submitted by: College Communications

VP for Business & Finance Interviews Next Week

Canisius College is in the final stages of recruiting a new vice president for business and finance. The person in this position will provide leadership for all financial and administrative functions of the college, including finance, audit, facilities, information technology, human resources and business services. 

On behalf of the search committee, I am pleased to announce that two finalists, Tim Balkin and Melissa Woodin, will participate in on-campus interviews next week, Monday, April 26, and Thursday, April 29, respectively. 

Information about each finalist will be posted on the myCanisius portal under the “VP for Business Finance Search (VPBF)” tab located on the blue navigation bar across the top of the page.  An online evaluation form will also be posted here for any campus community members who wish to submit feedback.

Faculty and staff are encouraged to attend the Campus Forums by these candidates, scheduled from 3:30 – 4:30 pm in the Montante Cultural Center as follows:

Monday, April 26 – Tim Balkin

Thursday, April 29 – Melissa Woodin

Although the presentation will not be live-streamed, it will be recorded and the recordings will be linked in the portal. 

I would like to thank members of the search committee: Co-Chair Dr. David Sheets, Professor of Physics, Director of Data Analytics Program,; Dr. James Goldstein, Associate Professor of Accounting; Sandy Miller, Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations; Dr. Denise Rotondo, Dean, Wehle School of Business; Linda Walleshauser, Associate Vice President for Human Resources & Compliance; and Bennie Williams, Assistant Dean of Students, Director of Multicultural Programs.

Submitted by: Sara R. Morris, vice president Academic Affairs

Alpha Sigma Nu Induction 2021

The Canisius College chapter of Alpha Sigma Nu, the honor society of Jesuit colleges and universities, recently inducted 36 new members: 11 juniors, 17 seniors, 2 graduate students and 1 MBA student.

Four honorary members were included in this number: Eric Gansworth, professor of Creative Writing and Literature; Fatima Rodriguez Johnson MS ’98, associate dean for diversity and inclusion; Rev. John J. Mattimore, SJ, chief mission and ministry officer; Richard Reitsma, PhD, chair of the department of modern languages, literatures and cultures and associate professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies; Melissa Bekelja Wanzer, EdD, professor of communications, integrated marketing communications and women and gender studies.

The graduate students inducted were Lauryn Saldana, Harley Buczkowski and Samantha Makowski.

Sarah Batt, Brian Cornell, Andrew Erdman, Jenna French, James Garvey, Erin Guntrum, Eisa Hashmi, Charlotte Kacprowicz, Zacahry Lundy, James Lyon, Martha Marquez Luna, Cameron More, Sanjoy Paul, Nicholas Ruszczyk, Taryll Sigler, Michael Steffan and Joseph Wood were the seven seniors inducted.

The junior inductees were Alyssa Deacon, Heather Gotro, Matthew Johnson, Veronica LaPort, Dylan Lis, Vivian Mundschau, Michael Peppy, Keith Powers, Cara Smith, Meghan Swiatek and Alexander Yunke.

Submitted by: College Communications

Thank You from Undergraduate Admissions!

Thank you to the staff, faculty, current students and campus community members who participated or helped with the coordination of Accepted Student Days this spring! Your involvement was critical to the success of our event and we’ve received overwhelmingly positive feedback from accepted students and parents. Over and over again we heard that the interactions with all of you was the highlight of their time on campus.

Thank you for your support and for helping to make our events so successful!

Submitted by: Lindsay Miller, interim director, Undergraduate Admissions