Select Page

Nearly 90 Canisius College employees were recognized for their five-, 10- and 15-year service anniversaries in the Montante Cultural Center today, November 6, during the annual Service Recognition Ceremony. Combined, these faculty members, staff and administrators have contributed 820 years of service to the college.

Family members, friends and members of the Canisius community gathered for the celebration. Director of Campus Ministry Michael F. Hayes Jr. gave the invocation. Marco F. Benedetti, vice president for business and finance, and Margaret C. McCarthy, PhD, vice president for academic affairs, assisted President John J. Hurley in the presentation of the awards. The event also included a performance by Cantio Sacra. Luanne Firestone, associate campus minister, gave the benediction.

This is the 15th year the college has held the Service Recognition Ceremony to commemorate significant milestones in employee service. In the spring, Canisius recognizes employees who have reached 20 or more years of service, as well as retirees. Click thumbnails below for larger images of some of the honorees.

Five Years of Service

Paola Fajardo-Heyward, PhD, assistant professor, political science and Matthew Kochan, public services supervisor, library.


Kristina Laun, adjunct professor, fine arts.


Davina Moss-King, adjunct professor, counseling and human services.


Ten Years of Service

Julie Daniel, operations office manager, facilities management and Donna Ortolani, senior counselor and advocate, Griff Center.


Rosanne Hartman, professor, communication studies and director, communication leadership program.

Jonathan Lawrence, PhD, associate professor, religious studies.


Madonna McKernon, executive associate, student life and Shelly Baronich, accounting associate, controllers office.


Erica Sammarco, associate vice president, President's office.


Karen Schmid, adjunct professor, fine arts and Jennifer Desiderio, PhD, associate professor, English.


Dan Smith, PhD, adjunct professor, professional studies.


Tanya Loughead, PhD, associate professor, philosophy.


Traci Murphy, associate athletic director, Shelly Baronich, accounting associate, controller's office and Luanne Firestone, associate campus minister.


Tim Gregg, PhD, associate professor, chemistry and biochemistry.


Richard Warcholak, stationary engineer, facilities management.


Deborah Prohn, assistant director, student records and financial services; Nancy Wellezohn, associate dean, school of education and human services; and Mark Piatkowski, assistant director, student life.


Fifteen Years of Service

Nicki Calabrese, PhD, associate professor, teacher education.


Pamela Fears, admissions processing associate; Marie McMullen, assistant director, admissions processing; and Shawn O'Rourke, PhD, associate dean, school of education and human services.


Jessica Blum, librarian for reference and instructional services, library.


Kathleen Kreis, EdD, adjunct professor, teacher education.


Michael Rutter, Phd, associate professor, counseling and human services.


Below are photos from the event.




























To read a complete list of honorees, click here.

Submitted by: Marketing and Communication