Select Page

Campus Candids

From left to right:  Tim Utz ᾿18, Mary O’Sullivan, PhD, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, Matt Smardz ᾿19 and Marissa Rizzo ᾿20.

From left to right:  Phil Sheridan, PhD, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, David Filion ’19 and Ben Russ ’19.

Mary O’Sullivan, PhD, and Phil Sheridan, PhD, professors of chemistry and biochemistry and five chemistry and biochemistry majors attended the 255th National Meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS) in New Orleans, LA to present posters on their latest research results.

Tim Utz ’18, Marissa Rizzo ’20 and Matthew Smardz ’19 presented two posters based on their research in Mary O’Sullivan’s laboratory:  “Synthesis of Guanidino Derivatives of Aryl-Substituted Polyamines as Inhibitors of Trypanosoma cruzi Trypanothione Reductase” and  “N-Isopropyl Derivatives of Aryl-Substituted Polyamines:  Synthesis and Inhibition of Trypanothione Reductase.”  David Filion ’19 and Ben Russ ’19 presented two posters based on their research in Phil Sheridan’s laboratory:  “Laser Ablation/Molecular Jet Laser Excitation Spectroscopy of CaNCO” and “Computational Study of Aluminum Monoisocyanate Isomers.”

In addition, these students accepted the Commendable Student Chapter Award on behalf of the Canisius Student Chapter of the American Chemical Society (SCACS).  This is the second highest award given by the national ACS to student chapters.  This marks the 10th consecutive annual award that the Canisius SCACS has received.

Submitted by: Phil Sheridan, PhD, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Rotondo Named New Dean of Wehle School of Business

Dear Colleagues,

I am very pleased to inform you that Dr. Denise Rotondo has accepted the position of dean of the Wehle School of Business, effective June 4.  No doubt some of you reviewed her credentials as the search process unfolded and, I hope, had the chance to meet her and/or hear her presentation. She comes to us with more than two decades of experience as a faculty member and an administrator, most recently as dean of the School of Business at the State University of New York, Geneseo. In this role, Dr. Rotondo led the school through a successful Continuous Improvement Review with AACSB in 2017. Her strong history of involvement with AACSB, including serving on peer-review teams in the U.S., Europe, and Asia, will serve Canisius very well as we enter our next accreditation cycle.

Her orientation and values fit beautifully with our Jesuit tradition of academic excellence and commitment to the whole person. She will bring a high level of energy and creativity to the role and I look forward to working with her.

Based on Dr. Rotondo’s extensive experience, I am confident that her knowledge, expertise, and commitment will assure the continuity of current initiatives and the development of new opportunities.  Many thanks to the search committee and all who participated in the process.

All the best,


Submitted by: Margaret C. McCarthy, PhD, vice president for academic affairs

The Dome

Due to the Easter holiday break, The Dome will not publish on Good Friday, March 30 or Monday, April 2. The Dome will return on Wednesday, April 4. Happy Easter!

Submitted by: College Communications

College of Arts and Sciences 2018 Faculty Awards Ceremony

On Monday, April 9 at 3:15 p.m. the College of Arts and Sciences will hold its 2018 Faculty Awards ceremony and reception in the Regis Rooms to honor our faculty award winners.

Please join us in celebrating and congratulating the outstanding accomplishments and contributions of the following faculty members.

  • Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award: Johanna Fisher, adjunct professor, English and German
  • Faculty Service Award: Tanya Loughead, PhD, professor, Philosophy
  • Faculty Scholarship Award: Bruce Dierenfield, PhD, professor, History
  • Faculty Teaching Award: Peter Boehm, PhD, professor emeritus, German (posthumously)

All faculty and staff are welcome! Refreshments will be served.

Submitted by: Veronica Serwacki, executive associate, College of Arts & Sciences



Help Desk Spring Break Hours

Beginning today, Wednesday, March 28 the ITS Help Desk will be open Monday – Friday from 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. These hours will be in effect until Friday, April 6.

If you have any questions, please contact the Help Desk by visiting Horan O’Donnell Room 016, by email at or by calling Ext. 8340.

Submitted by: Grant Guzda, help desk manager, User Services