Select Page

         Pictured above (l-r): I. Joan Lorch Award recipients Secil Erdogan Ertorer, PhD (Colleague Award), Hawa Saleh ’24 (Student Award), and Geo Hernandez ’17, ’19 (Community Organizer Award)

Women & Gender Studies hosted the annual I. Joan Lorch Celebration on Tuesday, March 28 in the Grupp Fireside Lounge.  The Dr. I. Joan Lorch Award for Women & Gender Studies honors individuals who have made a significant contributions to women, and who exemplify the pursuit of liberation and justice regarding sex, gender and sexuality.

   Pictured (above) attendees Erin Robinson, PhD; Community Award recipient Geo Hernandez; Tanya Loughead, PhD; and Richard Reitsma, PhD

Following an introduction from Tanya Loughead, PhD, professor of philosophy, and a blessing by Rev. Patrick J. Lynch, SJ, the following three outstanding award winners were recognized in their respective categories:   T

(1) Canisius Student Award: Hawa Saleh ’24, English, creative writing and history

(2) Canisius Colleague Award: Secil Erdogan Ertorer, PhD, associate professor, sociology

(3) Community Award: Geo Hernandez ’17, ’19, community organizer and activist

Submitted by: Tanya Loughead, PhD, professor, Philosophy