Select Page

Canisius in the News

As part of Autism Awareness Month, the Canisius IAR team was featured in the US Department of Education’s IES blog (Inside IES Research) for its series of grant-funded studies.  Jenn Lodi-Smith is part of the current studies. To read more about the studies on IES, click here.

Submitted by: College Communications

Canisius Commencement Ceremonies

Canisius President John J. Hurley will preside over his final commencement ceremonies this month, as his tenure at the college comes to a close on June 30.  Graduate commencement is scheduled for Wednesday, May 18 at 7:00 p.m. in the Koessler Athletic Center (KAC).  Undergraduate commencement is scheduled for Saturday, May 21, also in the KAC. The college will host two undergraduate ceremonies on this day to better accommodate all graduates and their families.  Commencement for the College of Arts and Sciences will take place at 10:30 a.m.  Ceremonies for the School of Education and Human Services and the Wehle School of Business will follow at 1:30 p.m.  

In addition to the conferral of formal degrees upon graduates, each commencement ceremony will include a student speaker address and the conferral of honorary degrees and awards.  Among those individuals receiving an honorary degree, in absentia, is Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelenskyy. Additional individuals receiving honorary doctorate degrees during Canisius commencement ceremonies are: 

Erik Brady ’76, retired sportswriter for USA Today and contributing columnist for The Buffalo News; 

Robert J. Butler, PhD, professor emeritus of English and longtime director of the All-College Honors program at Canisius; 

Myron, MD and Joyce Glick, founders of the Jericho Road Community Health Center in Buffalo, a Federally Qualified Health Center; 

Nancy Nielsen, MD, PhD, clinical professor at the University at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences and past president of the American Medical Association; 

George Scott, president of the Colored Musicians Club in Buffalo; and 

Hon. Shirley Troutman, associate judge of the New York Court of Appeals.  

In addition to the conferral of honorary degrees, the Canisius College Alumni Association will bestow its LaSalle Medal upon two graduates. The LaSalle Medal is awarded to alumni whose contributions have advanced the interests of alma mater.  This year’s LaSalle Medal recipients are:

Lee C. Wortham ’79, who recently concluded seven years as a member of the Board of Trustees, including four (2017 – 2021) as chair.

Anthony M. Masiello ’69, HON ’96, former mayor of Buffalo and member of the Canisius College Board of Trustees, for which he helps formulate and recommend policy to President John Hurley.

For more information and to see the full release click, here.

Submitted by: College Communications

Women of Canisius Annual Pinning Ceremony

On Tuesday, May 17 from 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. in the Montante Cultural Center all female-identifying members of our Canisius community are invited to attend the annual Women of Canisius pinning ceremony in which  female graduates are welcomed into the Canisius College alumnae community. The ceremony will be followed by a reception with light refreshments. (Please note that all genders are welcome to join us at both the ceremony and the reception.) We encourage our 2022 graduates to invite their mom, sister, grandma, etc., to join us for this special occasion.
To register for the event click the link below.

Register here!

Submitted by: Sarah Sterzinger, assistant director, Alumni Engagement

Distinguished Seniors and Distinguished Faculty

The Office of Alumni Engagement is proud to announce the 2022 selection for Distinguished Faculty and Distinguished Seniors.

The 2022 Distinguished Faculty recipient is Shawn O’Rourke, PhD, co-chair, Kinesiology. This award is presented to full-time faculty members of the college who are distinguished for contributions to the academic world and teaching excellence.  Congratulations to Dr. O’ Rourke!

The 2022 Distinguished Seniors are:  Jordan Chatelle ’22, Alyssa Deacon ’22, Rosalia Sedano ’22 and Jasmine Thomas ’22.  These awards are presented to seniors who have distinguished themselves through academic excellence and leadership roles at the college.  Congratulations to Jordan, Alyssa, Rosalia, and Jasmine!

Submitted by: Sarah Sterzinger, assistant director of Alumni Engagement

Faculty Tenure & Promotions


The Office of Academic Affairs would like to congratulate the members of our Canisius faculty that were recently promoted in academic rank or awarded tenure.  Their work and scholarly achievements enrich Canisius College and play a significant role in preparing today’s students to become the next generation of leaders.

The following honorees were awarded tenure and promoted to associate professor:

Nathan Arbuckle, PhD, Department of Psychological Sciences

Anita C. Butera, PhD, Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice and Environmental Studies

Jonathan D. Rodgers, PhD, Department of Psychological Sciences

The following honoree was promoted to Full Professor:

Christy Hoffman, PhD, Department of Animal Behavior, Ecology and Conservation

Submitted by: Academic Affairs