Select Page

Members of the Canisius College community make up 19 percent of Business First’s Power 125 Women list for 2019. The list highlights the most influential women in the eight counties of Western New York.  Congratulations to Denise Rotondo, PhD, dean of the Wehle School of Business, who was named #97 on the list.

Business First compiled these rankings and defined “power” by the level of influence a woman has at her company, in her city or county and the length of her career. Only women who live full-time in Western New York were considered.

Of the 125 named, four Canisius alumnae are in the Top 10.

Below is a complete listing of those members of the Canisius community who were honored:

Canisius alumnae:

#6 ‒ Rhonda Frederick MPA ᾽03, president and CEO, People Inc.

#7 – Allegra Jaros ᾽93, MBA ᾽96, president, John R. Oishei Children’s Hospital of Buffalo

#8 – Clotilde Perez-Bode Dedecker ᾽82, president and CEO, Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo

#9 – Kimberly Minkel ᾽96, executive director, NFTA

#19 – Susan O’Sullivan ᾽04, vice president, U.S. sales, Ingram Micro, Inc.

#38 – Laura Zaepfel ᾽86, vice president of corporate relations, Uniland Development Co.

#43 – Norma Nowak ᾽79, PhD, executive director, NYS Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences; founder and chief scientific officer, Empire Genomics LLC

#44 – Nancy Ware ᾽78, president and founder, EduKids Inc.

#58 – Mary Roberts ᾽77, executive director, Martin House Restoration Corp.

#59 – Mary Jean Jakubowski, MS ᾽73, director, Buffalo and Erie County Public Library

#79 ‒ Linda Dobmeier ’83, chair, SUNY Buffalo State College Council; vice president, Dobmeier Janitorial Supplies Inc.

#94 – Kathleen Grisanti ᾽82, president and medical director, Pediatric and Adolescent Urgent Care of Western New York

#106 – Andrea Tyrpak – Endres MS ᾽83, principal and executive vice president, Canisius High School

#109 – Nora Eberl ᾽92, co-owner and CFO, Eberl Iron Works Inc.

#110 – Anne Gioia ’71, HON ’97, co-founder and trustee, Roswell Park Foundation

#112 – Nadine Marrero ᾽99, director of planning, city of Buffalo

#114 ‒ Katherine Ragusa MS ᾽06, CEO, The Advantage Co.

#117 ‒ Diane Tiveron ᾽86, managing partner, HoganWilling PLLC

Canisius honorary degree recipients:

#12 – JoAnn Falletta HON ’00, music director, Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra

#60 – Denise Roche HON ’92, chair, NFTA board of commissioners; retired president, D’Youville College

#73 ‒ Mindy Rich HON ’15, vice chair, Rich Products Corporation; president, Rich Entertainment Group

#118 ‒ Lana Benatovich HON ᾽99, president, National Federation for Just Communities of WNY

Maureen Hurley, retired executive vice president of Rich Products and wife of Canisius President John Hurley, was ranked #86.

Submitted by: College Communications