Select Page

Alpha Sigma Nu, the Honor Society of Jesuit Colleges and Universities, welcomed 31 inductees on Thursday, April 20 in Christ the King Chapel.  The inductees are comprised of six graduate students, 13 members of the Class of 2017 and 12 members of the Class of 2018.

In addition, three faculty members received honorary membership: Girish Shambu, PhD, associate professor of management; Frank Scinta adjunct professor, Fine Arts, and director of Canisius College Chorale; and Beth Gill, PhD, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.  Dr. Gill also delivered remarks to the inductees.

The ceremony included music from Bradley Wingert and Cantio Sacra, and an invocation and benediction by Rev. James Pribek, SJ. Stephen Chanderbhan, PhD, assistant professor of philosophy, stood in for Rev. Patrick Lynch, SJ, in the role of faculty advisor. Margaret McCarthy, PhD, vice president for Academic Affairs, represented the administration and accepted the students into the society.

Mark Zirnheld ’82, CEO and executive director of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul of Western New York, received this year’s Alpha Sigma Nu Distinguished Service Award and is the alumni choice for honorary induction into the society. More than 50 Alpha Sigma Nu alumni and family members gathered on Sunday, April 23 for mass and a brunch to honor Zirnheld who delivered remarks on the influence of his Jesuit education in his life and career.

At the brunch, the Honorable John J. LaFalce ’61, former Congressman from Western New York, gave a $1,000 gift to the Society of St. Vincent de Paul.

dsc_0784cropHon. John LaFalce (right) presents Mark Zirnheld (center), 2017 Alpha Sigma Nu Distinguished Service Award Winner, with a $1,000 donation for the Society of St. Vincent de Paul.  At left is Jeff Spencer, student president of the Canisius Chapter of Alpha Sigma Nu. (Credit: Joseph Lesh)

Alpha Sigma Nu members are selected on the basis of their dedication to three fundamental standards: scholarship, loyalty to the mission of the Jesuits and service.  The Honor Society urges its members on to a lifetime pursuit of intellectual development, deepening Ignatian spirituality, service to others and a commitment to the core principles of a Jesuit education. Founded in 1915, Alpha Sigma Nu is an international organization, with chapters at all 28 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States, Sogang University in Korea, Campion and Regis Colleges in Canada, and Loyola University in Seville, Spain.


Patrick Carter, Thomas James Michalewski


Benjamin Barkley, Samantha Gressieg, Tracy Panzarella, Edward S. Zirnheld


Elias Ayoub, Chanel Davis, Lisa C. Fischer, Geoffrey A. Fortman, Dilpreet Kaur, Thomas Matthew Kellner, Luke Quarles, Alexis M. Rivera, Ruth Jean Robinson, James Rutowski, Aleya-Marie S. Sales, Kyle Samson and Kira Voyer.


Sarah Dollendorf, Alexis Grebenok, Ellen Hamlett, David Joseph Krasinski, Megan K. Murray, Madelyn Reed, Kelly Roberts, Connor Rosenecker, Abigail Marie Schwenk, Timothy Andrew Utz, Haylie Virginia and Mary Woodruff.

Submitted by: Stephen Chanderbhan, PhD, assistant professor, Philosophy