Select Page

HurleyThe Canisius College All-College Honors Program held its annual banquet on Wednesday, April 6 at the Hotel Lafayette. The event included the presentation of the newly-created John J. Hurley Award. President Hurley was on hand to congratulate this year’s honoree Liz Piotrowski ’16.

The award is given to an All-College Honors student graduating in the spring semester who best exemplifies the Jesuit values of academic excellence, leadership and the promotion of justice. The award is named for President Hurley, who was an outstanding All-College Honors student (Class of 1978) at Canisius, and since then has exemplified the spirit of magis as a community leader, generous benefactor, and tireless advocate of social justice. In years when there is a deserving candidate, the Hurley award winner will receive $500 and a plaque.

Additional award recipients included:

The Robert J. Butler Award for Leadership – Liz Piotrowski ’16

The Kristin M. Brady Award for Excellence in All-College Honors Thesis – Nicole Kuhn ’16, Elliot Louisos ’16 and Charles Ritzler ’16

Honors Professor of the Year – Kate Dierenfield, PhD

Pictured above (l to r): John Hurley, Liz Piotrowski ’16 and Bruce Dierenfield, PhD, professor of history and director, All-College Honors Program

Submitted by: Public Relations