Select Page

Spotlight on Student-Faculty Collaboration

SFC-Comm-Leadership-spotlightEach year, at least one graduate student capstone from the Communication and Leadership graduate program is submitted and accepted into the Eastern Communication Association (ECA) Conference.  These papers are accepted using a blind peer review process; students compete with professors and other graduate students from across the northeast United States

Last year, Irma Tyszko’s paper was submitted and selected. She wrote her paper on Intercultural Communication, Competence, Intercultural Willingness to Communicate and Intercultural Communication Apprehension in Superior Subordinate Relationships.

SFC-Comm Leadership -2nd imageThis year, two student graduate capstone papers are accepted and will be presented at ECA, Ashley Lipka ’16 and Matt Gorczyca ’15. Ashley wrote her paper on The Use of Social Media in Non-Profit Organizations: Online Community Building and its Impact on Philanthropic Giving. Matt wrote his paper on The New Face of Philanthropy: The Role of Intrinsic Motivation in Millennials’ Attitudes and Intent to Donate to Charitable Organizations.

Ashley and Matt will be presenting on the same panel at the 2016 ECA conference in April.  The success of Communication and Leadership students at this conference demonstrates a strong, continued student-faculty collaboration in the program capstone.

Submitted by: Sara Morris, PhD, associate vice president, academic affairs

College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Awards Ceremony

The College of Arts and Sciences will be celebrating the 2016 Faculty Awards ceremony on Monday, March 21 at 3:00 p.m. in the Regis Rooms.  Please join us to help celebrate and congratulate the outstanding accomplishments of the following faculty members:

David Koteras and Thomas O’Malley – Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award

Anthony Weston, PhD – Full-time Faculty Teaching Award

Eric Gansworth and Rebecca Krawiec, PhD – Full-time Scholarship Award

Richard Falkenstein, PhD – Full-time Service Award

All faculty and staff are welcome! Refreshments will be served.

Submitted by: Veronica Serwacki, executive associate, college of arts and sciences


McNally Included on American Poets’ National Poetry Poster

JanetPoetry by Janet McNally ’02, assistant professor of English and creative writing, was chosen for  inclusion on the Academy of American Poets’ National Poetry Month poster. The poster is sent out to 120,000 bookstores, libraries and teachers across the country. McNally’s line of poetry, If you believe in snow, you have to believe, from her poem “Maggie Says There’s No Such Thing as Winter,” is featured among such great poets as Adrienne Rich, Ellen Bass, Mary Oliver, Billy Collins and T.S. Eliot.

Submitted by: Public Relations

College of Arts and Sciences Colloquium Presentation Available Online

Paul Waldau, PhD, presented at last week’s College of Arts and Sciences Colloquium on “The Interdisciplinary Question—A Communion of Subjects or Tower of Babel?” His abstract states: To raise questions about the potential and risks of interdisciplinary approaches to education and scholarship, as well as a number of vices and virtues encountered along interdisciplinary paths, I address challenges that are hard to avoid when teaching university-level courses to undergraduate, graduate or profession-level students. To illustrate features of various complex challenges, I draw upon a range of subjects in the humanities (ethics, comparative religion, and history), social sciences (education, law, economics), and natural sciences (both biological and environmental).

If you missed Paul’s presentation due to conflicting schedules and would like to watch it in its entirety, please access the video recording here.

Submitted by: Veronica Serwacki, executive associate, college of arts and sciences

SEHS Exceptional Achievement Awards 2016

On Friday, March 11 the School of Education and Human Services held its annual Exceptional Achievement Award ceremony. The following people were recognized in a ceremony held in Grupp Fireside lounge.

Marya Grande, PhD, associate professor, teacher education, was awarded the Full-Time Faculty Teaching Award.

Michael V. Dowling, adjunct professor, deaf education, was awarded the Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award.

Nora A. Caulfield, clinical supervisor, office of educational partnerships, was awarded the Outstanding Clinical Supervision Award.

James P. Donnelly, PhD, associate professor, counseling and human services, was awarded the Faculty Scholarship Award.

Sandra M. McKenna, academic program director, office of professional studies, was awarded the Staff Service Award.

Nicki M. Calabrese, PhD, professor, teacher education, was awarded the Faculty Service Award.

Contann Dabney, principal, Buffalo public school #17 early childhood center, was awarded the Community Partnership Award.

Congratulations to all 2016 award winners!

Submitted by: Public Relations